JRHC acclaims prez

The results are in for the Jean Royce Hall Council (JRHC) elections. All candidates running have been acclaimed.

Elections for 2006-07 positions were held Feb. 1 and 2. Harkness International Hall, Jean Royce Hall and the Graduate Residence are the three residence buildings that make up JRHC.

The JRHC executive consists of one president, with a council of three house presidents. Because all candidates running for office were unopposed, each needed a vote of confidence to be elected.

Melissa Shaw-Radswiolek was acclaimed to the position of JRHC president with 88 per cent of the vote. Marie McCarthy received 91 per cent of the vote for the position of house president for Jean Royce Hall. Adam Rose, the current house president of Harkness International Hall, was re-elected to serve a second year in office with 92 per cent of the vote.

Because no nomination packages from the Graduate Residence were received prior to the original due date, no election was held. However, recent interest for the position of house president has been expressed, said current President Arpi Kovacs. The JRHC is currently holding byelections for that building and plans to release results next week. During the elections, JRHC also held a referendum to increase the society fee by $1.50. The current fee stands at $72.50 and the increase, passed with 77 per cent of the vote, brought the new total to $74.00.

Arpi Kovacs, the current executive president of Jean Royce Hall Council (JRHC), said voter turnout was fairly low, with 100 student voters at the polls. Kovacs estimated this to be approximately 13 to 15 per cent of total eligible voters, adding that JRHC elections have never shown outstanding attendance.

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.