ComSoc elects new executive

President-elect currently on exchange in Chile

Julia Takach, Comm ’07, is the ComSoc president-elect.
Julia Takach, Comm ’07, is the ComSoc president-elect.

As the end of the year approaches, Krista Hapke, Comm ’06, is preparing to hand over her Commerce Society (ComSoc) presidential position to Julia Takach, Comm ’07.

ComSoc’s online voting period ended on Feb. 16.

Hapke told the Journal voter turnout was between 30 and 35 per cent, adding that a possible explanation for the relatively low turnout was that the voting took place during Commerce midterm week.

Takach, who is currently on exchange in Chile, she said she feels that the elections ran smoothly.

“We had a fantastic electoral officer, Sergio Gomes, and he brought the entire process to the next level,” she told the Journal via e-mail. “Through the introduction of an intricate and well-developed website, information was easily accessible.” Hapke said she thinks online voting, used for the second consecutive year, has many advantages.

“It makes the process extremely accessible for students, and this is something we hope to continue in years to come,” she said. “It’s good in the sense that people on exchange can still vote, too.” Takach agreed that online voting is the best method for Commerce students.

“When laptops are basically a way of life, it is only expected that Commerce students welcome online polls with open arms,” she said. “Online voting saves valuable student time and makes calculating the results much easier and faster.

“In addition, there are no concerns associated with miscalculations, and it is easily accessible to students in residence, at home or at school at all times of the day.” Takach said ComSoc’s new executive not only wants to improve ComSoc as a service for students by continuing the work of this year’s executive, but also hopes to dramatically increase student participation in both ComSoc and the AMS across all faculties.

“There are great opportunities for students in other faculties to get involved in our program and vice versa, but oftentimes, students don’t know about these,” she said. “We hope to combat this by working alongside other faculty societies and the AMS to reveal what is out there, and to ensure all faculties are represented.” Takach said one of ComSoc’s plans is to apply for financing through the CORE fund, which is a $50 opt-outable fee levied on all Commerce students.

Claire Marchant, Comm ’07 was acclaimed as VP (Internal), while Amanda Chan, also Comm ’07, was elected VP (External). Jonathan Willis, Comm ’07, was elected as head BEWS for the upcoming year, while Kimchi Hoang, Comm ’08, was acclaimed as head WIC. Natasha Struminikovski, Comm ’08, and David Keluski, Comm ’09, were acclaimed as upper year and lower year AMS representatives, respectively. ComSoc’s two new senators are Michelle Heffernan and Baha Bekenov, both Comm ’09.

All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.