News in brief

2013-14 AMS council hired

Team BGP, next year’s AMS executive, have hired the 2013-14 AMS Council.

President-elect Eril Berkok, Vice-President-elect of Operations Peter Green and Vice-President of University Affairs T.K. Pritchard announced their hiring decisions on Sunday.

The new commissioners include Allison Williams, ArtSci ’14 (academic affairs commissioner); Gareth Savage, ArtSci ’13 (campus activities commissioner); Kristen Oliver, ArtSci ’15 (commissioner of internal affairs); Catherine Wright, ArtSci ’14 (municipal affairs commissioner); Michelle Williams, ArtSci ’13 (social issues commissioner); and Colin Robinson, ArtSci ’13 (commissioner of the environment and sustainability).

The council also includes Daniel Bone, Comm ’14 (retail services director); Justin Reekie, ArtSci ’13 (hospitality and safety services); and Devin McDonald, ArtSci ’13 (media services director).

See the Journal on Thursday for the full story.


All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.