Team CBW acclaimed as incoming AMS executive

Chinniah, Beaudry and Wright first AMS team to win unopposed since 1990

The AMS has acclaimed Team CBW — Kanivanan Chinniah, Kyle Beaudry and Catherine Wright — as the incoming 2015-16 executive team.

Chinniah will serve as President, and Beaudry and Wright as vice-president of operations and vice-president of university affairs, respectively.

CBW was the only team to fulfill the nomination and eligibility requirements by the close of the nomination period at 4 p.m. Wednesday. The requirements are 800 signatures of current AMS members, payment of the AMS specific fee, membership in an AMS-constituent student society and attendance at a mandatory all-candidates meeting.

Also present at the all-candidates meeting was a Team BTB, consisting of Dylan Braam, Steven Bruch and Jessalynn Tsang. It's unknown at this time why BTB didn't fulfill the requirements.

AMS Chief Electoral Officer Chris Casher consulted with Chief Returning Officer Tyler Lively and the Elections Team before acclaiming CBW as the incoming executive.

The last time an AMS executive team won by acclamation was in 1990. The 1983-84 AMS executive were also acclaimed.

Instead of debates, the incoming executive will host public forums to meet with students and discuss future initiatives.

The forums will be held on Jan. 19 and 20 in the JDUC.

This story will be updated as information becomes available.


All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.