Queen’s recognizes Order of Canada recipients

Domino Pizza

Queen's campus.
Journal file photo

On Dec. 29, four members of the Queen’s community were among the 125 appointed to the Order of Canada by Governor General Julia Payette.

Awarded annually since 1967 by Canada’s Governor General, the Order of Canada is among the country’s highest civilian honours.

Among the new appointments are three Queen’s faculty members and a member of Queen’s Board of Trustees. R. Kerry Rowe, Elizabeth Eisenhauer and Paul Armstrong were appointed as Officers. Kathleen Pritchard was appointed as a Member.

According to The Gazette, the recipients will be honoured with their insignias in Rideau Hall on a date that’s yet to be determined.

Elizabeth Eisenhauer, MD ‘76, the former head of the Department of Oncology, is being recognized “for her extensive research contributions and leadership within the field of clinical cancer care in Canada.”

R. Kerry Rowe is currently a faculty member in the Department of Civil Engineering and the former Vice-Principal (Research). Rowe is being recognized “for his seminal contributions to the field of geoenvironmental engineering, notably for his pioneering research in waste barrier systems.”

Paul Armstrong, ArtSci ’63 and MD ’66, is an adjunct professor in the Queen’s School of Medicine. Armstrong is being recognized “for his contributions to the advancement
of cardiology, notably for his pioneering research in acute cardiac care, and for his leadership in health care institutions.”

A member of the Board of Trustees and a Queen’s alumna, Kathleen Pritchard, ArtSci ’69 and MD ‘71, was recognized “for her contributions to the treatment of breast cancer in women, notably as a leader of influential national and international clinical trials.”

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.