News in Brief

Journal File photo

Engineering and Applied Science reintroduces faculty award

The Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS) is accepting nominations for the Professor Carolyn Small Engineering Education Innovator Award.

The award isn’t given out annually, but has been reinstated this year to celebrate the faculty’s 125th anniversary. It's named after its first female graduate, BSc’ 73, to be appointed as a faculty member, and will be awarded to pre-tenure faculty members who demonstrate educational innovation.

Nomination letters should describe the nominee’s impact and be fewer than eight pages. Evidence of both impact and support letters are encouraged.

Any tenure-track, but not-yet tenured, FEAS Faculty Board members are eligible for nomination and can be nominated by other faculty members.

A committee of faculty members selected by Brian Frank, the associate dean (teaching and learning), will adjudicate the award.

The faculty members who win the award will present a talk on their education methods at the 125th anniversary celebrations. They’ll receive an annual membership in the Canadian Engineering Education Association and a grant of $15,000 to be used towards educational innovation.

Nomination letters should be sent to by Nov. 30

University rolls out new appointments

On Nov. 1, the University announced the appointment of new personnel within its administration.

Jessica Duggan has been appointed to director of alumni engagement in the Smith School, within the dean’s office of the Smith School of Business.

Ryan Curzon has been selected as the manager of investment operations in the Department of Investment Services.

Tracy Bowes, Faculty of Law, has been appointed to the position of non-academic misconduct intake coordinator in the Department of Support Services and Community Engagement.

Colleen McGuire, advancement (athletics and recreation), has been selected as the new stewardship officer (communications and engagement) in the department of Development, within the Office of Advancement.

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.