AJW voted next AMS executive

Election results were announced on the night of Jan. 29.

As voting closed Tuesday, a 30.1 per cent turnout rate elected next year’s student leaders.


AMS voters have elected Team AJW, comprised of Presidential candidate Auston Pierce, ArtSci ’19, vice-president (operations) candidate Jessica Dahanayake, Sci ’20, and vice-president (university affairs) candidate William Greene, ArtSci ’19, as their 2019-20 representatives.

The team won a 91.3 per cent vote of confidence.

“We’re excited for what’s to come,” Dahanayake told The Journal after being elected in a statement. “Thank you to all of our supporters and campaign volunteers, and everyone who believed in us.”

Greene added, “We’re extremely humbled by this opportunity and we’re so thankful to everyone who helped us with this.”

Presidential candidate Pierce echoed his executive teammates, saying, “We’d like to thank everyone who showed up to the polls and everyone who came out. We’ve dedicated our platform to the students and we hope to continue that.”


As the only contested position, Jinho Lee beat out Melissa Young for vice-president (operations) in the EngSoc elections.

“Thank you so much for voting for me,” Lee told The Journal following his election reveal party at Clark Hall Pub. “I’d like to say thanks to all the service managers and all the execs who’ve helped me through this process. I’ll try my best to do a great job. Thank you.”

Lee’s joined by President Del Benoit, Vice-President (Student Affairs) Zaid Kasim, and Junior Senator Peter Matthews, filling out the 2019-20 EngSoc executive team.

“I’m just really excited for the position, I’m really happy I won, and I’m looking forward to following through on all my platform points,” Benoit told The Journal in a post-election statement.


Jeremy Ambraska has been elected as the 2019-20 president of the SGPS, following the only contested graduate students’ election.

In a statement to The Journal, Ambraska’s opposition, presidential candidate Jaspar Wong, commented on his loss.  

“I want to congratulate Jeremy on his successful campaign for SGPS President. I thought he made some fine points during his campaign, and I am confident he will take steps to address issues brought forth by both sides to improve the SGPS,” Wong said.

The SGPS 2019-20 executive will be comprised of Vice-President (Community) Cameron Wathey, Vice-President (Finances and Services) Abel Hazon, Vice-President (Graduate) Leo Erlikhman, Vice-President (Professional) Ryan Adlem, and graduate student Senator Courtney Bannerman.


The uncontested ASUS elections ended with a vote of confidence for Team Chayce and Aaryan.

“We’re speechless. Even though we were uncontested, we planned for the worst, hoped for the best,” Chayce Perkins told The Journal in a statement following her election. “At the beginning of the campaign, we made an agreement between each other and our core team that we would still go as hard as we possibly could to learn as much as we could from students.”

Chayce Perkins, ArtSci ’20, will assume the role of president of the Arts and Science Undergraduate Society, and Aaryan Chaudhury, ArtSci ’21, will join her as the 2019-20 vice-president.

Undergraduate Trustee

Tyler Macintyre, Sci ’20, who was the sole candidate for the Undergraduate Trustee position, was elected with an 89.2 per cent vote of confidence Thursday. He’ll assume the role beginning in the 2019-20 school year.

“I’d like to thank the student populous for turning out at a higher rate than they did for the JDUC referendum and for finding confidence in me,” Macintyre told The Journal in a statement following the results. “It really means a lot to me that the student body is behind me.”

—With files from Josh Granovsky, Brigid Goulem, Matt Scace, Sydney Ko, and Rachel Aiken.  

All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to journal_editors@ams.queensu.ca.

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.