AMS executive & Undergraduate Trustee elections both contested

Following extension, candidates secure nomination in both elections 

All candidates will be validated at AMS Assembly on Friday.
Journal File Photo

Following an extended nomination period, two teams have successfully submitted nomination packages for AMS executive in the upcoming election. 

The nomination period was initially set to close on Jan. 25; however, it was extended by one day to allow candidates extra time to gather signatures. The AMS also reduced the number of signatures candidates were required to gather to secure the nomination from a minimum of 380 signatures to a minimum of 190 signatures. 

READ MORE: Second team seeks nomination for AMS executive

Team RTZ consists of Presidential candidate Zaid Kasim, Sci ’21, Vice Presidential (Operations) candidate Tiana Wong, ArtSci ’21 and Vice Presidential (University Affairs) candidate Ryan Sieg, Kin ’21. 

Team TIA, which consists of Presidential candidate Isaac Sahota, ArtSci ’22, Vice-Presidential (Operations) candidate Tabassum Pasha, Comm ’21, and Vice-Presidential (University Affairs) candidate Amelia Cockerham, ArtSci ’22, has also secured their candidacy for AMS executive.

Both Seyon Shelvachandren, Nurs ’24, and Jaya Sharma, BHSc ’24, have also secured nominations for the position of Undergraduate Trustee.    

All candidates will be validated at the upcoming AMS Assembly on Jan. 29 before the campaign period begins on Feb. 1. Students may cast their votes on Feb. 9 and 10. 

Want to see more like this? Subscribe to our newsletter, Campus Catch-Up to receive regular updates right in your inbox.

All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to

When commenting, be considerate and respectful of writers and fellow commenters. Try to stay on topic. Spam and comments that are hateful or discriminatory will be deleted. Our full commenting policy can be read here.