AMS executive to see uncontested election this year

Single successful team must receive vote of confidence in referendum

In a press release sent out Tuesday morning, AMS Chief Electoral Officer Matthew Ierino announced that only one team will run for AMS Executive this year.

After the All Candidates Meeting on Jan. 9 saw few people in attendance, Ierino said two teams picked up nomination packages. The single team successful in the nomination process consists of Presidential candidate Emily VanderHeyden, ArtSci ’18, Vice-President (Operations) candidate Craig Draeger, ArtSci ’18, and Vice-President (University Affairs) candidate Natasha Kornak, ArtSci ’19.

The last time the AMS had a non-contested election was in 2015. Election by acclamation — where AMS Assembly rather than a student body vote of confidence — was used in the last three AMS elections where only one team has run — 1983, 1990 and 2015.

AMS policy has changed since then, stating “Should only one team fulfil nomination requirements … with no other team having come forward, a vote of confidence will be held at the set election date to determine if the team will be acclaimed.”

The candidates will hold an open forum on Jan. 25 in Wallace Hall at 7 p.m. Students can submit questions ahead of time to, until 4 p.m. on the day of the forum. Team ECN must release their platform no later than 24 hours before the forum.


AMS elections

All final editorial decisions are made by the Editor(s)-in-Chief and/or the Managing Editor. Authors should not be contacted, targeted, or harassed under any circumstances. If you have any grievances with this article, please direct your comments to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Queen's Journal

© All rights reserved.

Back to Top
Skip to content