The air was electric in Clark Hall Pub on Feb. 1 as former, current, and incoming Engineering Society (EngSoc) executive members and fellow students gathered to watch the in-person announcement of EngSoc elections winners for the first time since 2019.  
With election season underway, three positions are up for grabs on the SGPS executive. Polls open on Feb. 6 and 7.
Engineering Society (EngSoc) executive candidates congregated in the ILC Atrium on Jan. 25 to debate for elected positions with Engineering students watching.
After years of uncontested elections—the last contested being in 2021—there’s a tight race for the lead executive positions of Queen’s largest student government, the AMS. 
Team ATP, composed ofcandidates Amaiya Walters for president, ArtSci ’23, Therese de Rivera for vice-president (operations), ArtSci ’24, and Preston Harrison for vice-president (society affairs), ArtSci ’23, is the only team running in this year’s Arts and Science Undergraduate Society (ASUS) executive election. 
As the uncontested candidates for next year’s Commerce Society (ComSoc) executive, Team MEC spoke with The Journal from their exchange locations across Europe to explain their platform.
Two candidates are running for vice-president (operations) in the Engineering Society (EngSoc) election, happening Jan. 30-31. They chatted to The Journal about their platforms and hopes for the role.
In an uncontested election for the Residence Society (ResSoc), all candidates were elected to their respective positions. The results were announced in a ceremony in Ban Righ Hall on Tuesday.
The Arts and Science Undergraduate Society (ASUS) executive candidates participated in an open forum on Zoom on Wednesday where they discussed the future of the faculty society, including ASUS fees and student accessibility. 
Queen’s engineering students head to the polls next week to elect their new Engineering Society (EngSoc) executives.
The Journal spoke to the two candidates running for Engineering Society (EngSoc) Junior Senator to chat about their platforms. The election is happening between Jan. 30-31.
Teagan Shuck, Alison Wong, and Nathan Beckner-Stetson are running uncontested in the 2023 Residence Society (ResSoc) election, which is happening on Jan. 23. Three positions are up for grabs: President, Vice-President (Residence Operations), and Vice-President (Society Operations). 
The current three executive structure of the Engineering Society (EngSoc) is shifting to add one more vice president position.  
Prospective leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party (NDP) Marit Stiles brought her campaign to Kingston on Nov. 12 at The Mansion.
From wild street parties to rat infested houses, the new Kingston municipal government hopes to solve campus issues by bridging the gap between Queen’s students and Kingston residents.  The new government was elected on Oct. 24. Bryan Paterson was re-elected as mayor of Kingston for the third time in a row with decisive win, receiving 74.29 per cent of the vote. Conny Glenn won the race for District Councillor for Sydenham, the district where most Queen’s students live.
The Graduate Student Trustee position is currently up for grabs. The SGPS is actively working to run the election for the position. 
Six candidates are running to be Queen’s 38th Rector—Caitlin Sankaran-Wee, ArtSci ’24, Leo Yang, ArtSci ‘25, Sahiba Gulati, ArtSci ’23, William Bruce-Robertson, ArtSci ’25, Emils Matiss, MA ’22, and Owen Crawford-Lem, ArtSci ’23.
The 38th Rector debate took place on Mar. 16 in the JDUC with all six candidates—Caitlin Sankaran-Wee, ArtSci ’24, Leo Yang, ArtSci ‘25, Sahiba Gulati, ArtSci ’23, William Bruce-Robertson, ArtSci ’25, Emils Matiss, MA ’22, and Owen Crawford-Lem, ArtSci ’23—were present. 
The Health Sciences Society (HSS) Open Forum, held on Feb. 6, saw eight candidates running for the three contested positions of president, vice-president (operations), and vice-president (university affairs).
This year, all Engineering Society (EngSoc) positions up for election—president, vice-president of operations (VPO), vice-president of student affairs (VPSA) and junior senator—are uncontested.
Queen's Journal

© All rights reserved.

Back to Top
Skip to content